Zolochiv castle was built on the territory of the Old Ruthenian fortress. It had to control and protect the merchants who were moving in the direction of Lviv along the so-called Tatar way.
In the 16th century, the fortress came into the possession of Sobieski family. In 1672, the Turkish army occupied the castle, and after it was returned,the captive Turks were involved in the reconstruction of the fortress.
The period of 1939-1941 was the most tragic, as the Soviet authorities arranged the NKVD torture chamber in the palace. The museum and reserve includes Renaissance architectural complexes of the Great and Chinese palaces, a gate tower, defensive walls with bastions and a landscape park.
Some of the most popular exhibits of the castle are the stones with encrypted inscriptions, which were transported from Novosilky village.
Author Ihor Lylo
Translated by A. Kushch