Due to its geographical location, it is often called a key to Galicia and Volhynia.
According to archaeological research, the inhabitants of the Miiddle Plisnensk began to build the fortress.They moved there after the Mongol invasion in the 13th century.
Since 1605,the Ukrainian magnate Ivan Danylovych had already owned the castle and all its surroundings.
In 1636, such large estates as Jakub Sobieski’s one fell into the hands of his son, King Jan III. The fortress is surrounded by the landscape park dated back to the18th century with ponds, alleys and sculptural compositions. According to historical information, the Queen Marysenka, a King’s wife, engaged in its arrangement.
The castle still houses a large collection of antiques and artworks as well as holds knight tournaments and other activities.
Author Ihor Lylo
Translated by A. Kushch