Svirzh castle was first mentioned in 1427. Since 1530 it belonged to the Świrski family. Then it became the property of Count Cetner, who rebuilt and significantly fortifiedit.
He entrusted the implementation of works to General of the Artillery Paweł Grodzicki, who at that time worked in Lviv on the construction of a royal arsenal. Svirzh castle was rather a "family shelter", where it was possible to escape from the troubles of everyday life just by raising the drawbridge.
As the castle was located "on the roadside" of the main trade routes, it was not severely damaged. After the war, it was used several times as a place for film shootings and music festivals.
Author Ihor Lylo
Translated by A. Kushch