Lviv Organ and Chamber Music Hall is located in the building of the former St Maria Magdalene Roman Catholic Church that was built in the 17th century.
In 1753-1758, the architect Martin Urbanik built the tower to the temple, and the master Sebastian Fesinger decorated the facade with the figures of St Dominic and St Hyacinth. At the end of the 18th century, the Austrian authorities closed the monastery and passed the premises and the temple to the women's prison, which operated there until 1922.
In 1932, a unique Rieger–Kloss organ was established in the former holy place. The building was used for different purposes and only in the 1960's it was decided to arrange the organ hall there.
During the time of Ukrainian independence the organ was thoroughly renovated. Nowadays, visit to the Organ Hall is a great opportunity to listen to the best classical music works and the extraordinary organ sounds.
Author Ihor Lylo
Translated by A. Kushch