It is a monument of garden design of national significance. Being founded in 1887, it still remains the largest park in Lviv. Like most city parks, this one was also designed by Arnold Röhring, an outstanding landscape designer.
Before the Second World War, it was called Kilinski Park - in honor of the Polish rebel, who was fighting against Russian enslavement. Jan Kilinski monument is still located in the lower part of the park. The park was considered to be the most beautiful in the interwar Poland for a long time. In 1894, in its upper part, the territory was arranged for the General County Exhibition, where every reputable firm of Galicia exhibited its own products.
In order to ensure the access of the guests to this part of the park, the first electric tram line in Lviv was constructed and launched. Several premises of the exhibition have been preserved till now, but they are already adapted to other needs. The park was and still remains a great place for walks and cycling tours.
Author Ihor Lylo
Translated by A. Kushch