The park is located on the highest mountain overlooking the old part of the city. In the past, it was a favorite place for a walk among the burghers and city elite.
There used to be a fortified castle of Danylo Romanovych and his son. In 1845 the Austrian Kaiser was enjoying the city view from the balcony of the café, which was built in the lower part of the park. At the same time, the planned arrangement of leisure facilities began.
A picturesque grotto with two lions was created in the western side of the park. The artificial hill was made on the mountain in 1869 in commemoration of the 300th anniversary of the Union of Lublin between Poland and Lithuania, and it still serves as a view point of the city.
Until recently, there was a figure of so-called "Lion Lorenstovych" on the pedestal at the foot of the hill. It was the oldest preserved figure in the city and was transferred there at the same time as the hill was made. Given the age of the figure and in order to preserve it, nowadays it is located in the Lviv Historical Museum. The park is particularly beautiful in autumn.
Author Ihor Lylo
Translated by A. Kushch