Placed in the house № 24 on the Market Square. The former renaissance dwelling house is also known as "Massarivska kamyanytsia". In the same place, there was one of the oldest houses on the square, which burned down during a great fire in 1527. You can see the original Gothic vaults and window frames on the first floor? despite the destruction and numerous alterations, on the ground floor. After 1920, the premises were adapted for the functions of a museum building and in 1946 transferred to the historical museum
The exhibition presents unique archaeological materials that illuminate the history of Galicia from ancient times. Concentrated among the artefacts are flint hand rubies, Paleolithic musical instruments, painted ceramics of the tribes of the Trypillia culture and even galvanoscope of the largest gold treasure of Eastern Europe from the village. Mikhalkiv.
The museum presents monuments from the times of the Galician-Volyn state and the Cossack era. In the exposition of the present materials covering the construction of the burghers, as well as the economic life of Lviv XVII-XVIII ct.