In the 19th century, there was a city park with a summer scene on the territory of the present theatre. At the beginning of the 20th century, it was passed to a Jewish theatre.
The townhouse, which belonged to the theatre, was rebuilt, so that the spectators had to pass through the gates from the side of the façade in order to get to the inner courtyard, and from there they were able to enter the auditorium.
In 1938 - 1939, due to the efforts of the architects Vladyslav Bleim and Daniel Kalmus, the theatre got the features of constructivism.
Unfortunately, during the World War II it stopped operating, and after numerous perturbations and military occupation of the city in 1944, the First Ukrainian theatre for children and youth has appeared in this building. In addition to the traditional repertoire for children, the modern theatre group offers ‘adult themes’ of today’s public concern.
Author Ihor Lylo
Translated by A. Kushch