On November 16, 1784, according to the privilege of Emperor Joseph II, a university with four faculties (theology, law, philosophy and medicine) has been renewed in Lviv.
The oldest campuses of the university are located on Pekarska Street and are mostly built in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
H. Kadyi, V. Shymonovych, A. Bek, J. Prus, L. Rydygier, J. Parnas, R. Weigl used to teach at the university.
The inscription saying ‘This is the place where death delights to help life’ can be found on the facade of the Museum of Diseases at the Pathologoanatomic Institute of the University.
Its collection has been expending for over a century and includes about 2500 instances.
Author Ihor Lylo
Translated by A. Kushch