This place is one of the largest and little-known among tourists in Lviv.
Its construction, ordered by influential and wealthy Count Konstiantyn Semenskyi, was completed in 1849. Count’s son Wilhelm rebuilt the palace as well as surrounding buildings and added Baroque features to the construction. Among the aristocratic society in and outside Lviv, Wilhelm was known as a great horse expert, keeping a beautiful stable with thoroughbred racehorses.
Even nowadays it is possible to see the pictures of these beautiful animals in the elements of the external facade of the building. The palace received its final name, when Wilhelm married Sophia Levytska. The descendants of the family remained owners of the building till the end of the Second World War.
During the Soviet rule the building was confiscated and used for various educational institutions, one of which still remains there today.
Author Ihor Lylo
Translated by A. Kushch