It is believed that the first shrine on the site of Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine existed in princely times.
After numerous fires and devastation the temple was rebuilt in the Renaissance style, in the late 16th - early 17th centuries by architects Petro Italiyets and Pavlo Rymlianyn. Also it was a time when a new bell tower was erected - Kornyakt Tower and Chapel of the Three Saints.
In 1586, thanks to the activity of the Lviv Fraternity, the first fraternal school in Ukraine was founded. It is known that Metropolitan Petro Mohyla studied here. The school subsequently reached the level of higher education institution.
in 1788 The Stavropygian Institute was founded on the basis of the Lviv Fraternity. In the early twentieth century unique stained glass windows were created by Petro Kholodnyi. There was a museum, archive, printing house and fraternal school within the territory of the Institute.
Today it is the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.