Museum of Historical Treasures

    Address:2, Rynok Sq., “Palazzo Bandinelli”
    Phone:+38 (032) 297-53-67 (118)
    Web:www.lhm.lviv.ua
  • Department of Lviv History Museum

    Palazzo Bandinelli is a monument of Renaissance architecture in Lviv of the late 16th – 17th centuries. The architect is unknown. The name comes from the surname of the house owner of the second quarter of the 17th century, Roberto Bandinelli. The monument is located at the corner of the east side of Rynok Square and Stavropigiyska Street (Rynok Sq., 2).

    In general, the house retained the planning structure and partially – the interior of the 17th century. Authentic carved ceiling beams, white-stone pillars between the windows, encrusted with alabaster, have been preserved on the first floor in the front hall. The building has undergone numerous alterations in 18th – 19th centuries. It obtained its modern look after a thorough restoration carried out in 2000 – 2007.

    Many important and interesting events in the history of our city are associated with the names of owners and residents of Palazzo Bandinelli. Here lived in the early 17th century the author of the famous historical write-up of the city, printed in the six-volume "Descriptions of Prominent Cities of the World" (Cologne, 1617) – Johann Alnpeck. In 1629 the owner of the buildings Roberto Bandinelli opened the first regular post office in Lviv. In the 19th century there was a bookshop and Wildes’ book publishing firm. 

    Since 2005, the building houses Lviv Historical Museum.

    Monuments of jewelery at museum treasures

    The exhibition “Monuments of jewelery at museum treasures” is based on the materials from the fund of precious metals of Lviv Historical Museum. Some items were provided for exhibiting by Lviv Art Gallery, Lviv Museum of Religion, Museum of Ethnography and Crafts of Academy of Sciences in Ukraine in Lviv.

    The exhibition includes the objects of artistic silver of different purposes - applied and ceremonial, particularly sacred. Chronological framework for the origin of the collection objects covers the interval from the end of the 16th century to the early 20th century - extremely interesting, eventful period in the history of Lviv and Galicia. Geography of the origin of museum items near Lviv covers important centers of jewelry in Austria, Poland, Russia, Germany, namely those countries with which our land was united by close trade and cultural ties, and partly by common historical destiny.

    In the first part of the exhibition the Museum visitors can have a look at the complex of units which have not only artistic but also a significant historical value. They are related to important events in the history of Lviv, with life and work of prominent city citizens. Among significant items in this section there are the items of Lviv goldsmiths: seal of Lviv goldsmiths’ workshop (appr. 1600), symbolic keys of the city (18th century), Ceremonial chain of Lviv Presidents (1892), silver model of the City Town Hall (1920-1930).

    The second part of the exhibition represents antique wares of European artistic silver, which come from the Lviv private collections, late 19th - early 20th century, including the collection of famous Lviv antiquary, historian and writer V. Lozynsky (1843 - 1913).

    In general, the exhibition represents about 150 items of silver art. The exhibition is complemented with thematic works of graphic and paintings.

    Museum of Glass

    Department of Lviv Historical Museum - Museum of Glass was opened in September 2006, to celebrate the 750th anniversary of Lviv by the exhibition of works of international symposia of Blown Glass, which took place in our city in 1989. Organizers of the exhibition were Lviv Historical Museum and Lviv Art Academy. The museum was created to represent to the public the history of applied glass on the territory of Western Ukraine from princely times to the mid-19th century and also to represent to the public the collections of modern art works of the representatives of a narrow, but progressing field of arts and crafts - blown glass. The exposition of the Museum of Glass consists of two sections: “Historical Glass” and “Modern Glass”.

  • Venues on map

    Look on maps.google.com
      shown 0 comments from 0
      Your rate
    • All venues