The St. Peter and Paul Church of the Jesuit Order

  • The Sts. Peter and Paul Church of the Jesuit Order is a religious Baroque monument dating back to 1610-1630 and one of the largest churches in Lviv.

    The Jesuits, having gained a foothold in Lviv in the early 17th century, launched the construction of their church in 1610. Italian constructor Jacomo Briano, having just returned from Italy, brought the first signs of a new architectural style – the Baroque - to our city. Thus, the Church of the Jesuits in Lviv, completed in 1630, was probably the first church in Eastern Europe built in the early Baroque style. Briano took the Church of the Gesù in Rome as an example for his creative work.

    The Church in Lviv became the third Jesuit church in the largest European state at that time Rzeczpospolita and the largest church in Lviv, able to accommodate 5,000 parishioners. Figures of Jesuit saints are found in the niches of the main eastern façade. Inside the church are gravestones of the famous commander and defender of Lviv from the Tatars, Stanislaw Jablonowski, and the magnate Diduszycki family. The church interior is decorated with numerous works of decorative painting and sculpture dating back to the 18-19th centuries. Since 1773 the Jesuits had been banished from Lviv several times, and several times they had returned. At Soviet times in the church was located a book depository. Since 2012 Sts. Peter and Paul Church was handed over to the religious community and is opened to all visitors.

    The church adjoins the building of the former Jesuit College, which features a picturesque portal and and an inscription: 1723. In 1661 the first university on Ukrainian territory was founded here. The building façade bears a plaque recounting that one of the most prominent leaders of the Ukrainian nation, Bohdan Khmelnytsky, was a student of the Jesuit College.

  • Venues on map

    Look on maps.google.com
      shown 0 comments from 0
      Your rate
    • All venues