The Palace of Justice

    Address:1/3 Knyazya Romana Street
  • The Palace of Justice is an administrative structure of late 19th century built in the style of Viennese Neorenaissance.

    The house, which was also called the Palace of Justice, was designed by architect F. Skovron and erected in 1891-1895 for the Supreme Court of Halychyna. There is a partially preserved stone sculptural group “Justice” by well-known sculptor Leonardo Marconi on the main facade’s attic. An unusually large mirror of the late 19th century and two alabaster lions by architect Antoni Popiel (the author of the monument to Adam Mickiewicz  in Lviv) have survived and are located in the vestibule. Another sculpture by Popiel – the Statue of Justice (1896) – can also be found in the building’s interior. 

    Many famous trials were held in the Palace of Justice’s halls. Until 1889 the old Carmelite Monastery that stood on this spot was used as a prison. As the memorial plate on the building’s facade reads, in 1877-1878 Ivan Franko served his sentence here. Nowadays the building houses the educational facilities of LvivPolytechnicUniversity.

  • Venues on map

    Look on maps.google.com
      shown 0 comments from 0
      Your rate
    • All venues