The Palace of Dzieduszyckis

  • Address:15/17 Lysenka Street
  • The Palace of Dzieduszyckis is a palace in late French Renaissance style of the last quarter of the 19th century located in the middle of a beautiful park surrounded by a fence.

    The palace with a high figured roof and Baroque elements was erected by architect V. Podhorodetsky for the family of Dzieduszycki magnates. Surviving old portals of Lviv dating back to the 17th-18th centuries are immured into the palace wall in the courtyard. Among them is the portal of the Franciscan Monastery destroyed by the fire of 1848.

    The Palace of Dzieduszyckis housed their private gallery and library which were open to the public until 1939. The collection numbering 800 paintings consisted of two sections: Western European art (works of Rubens, Van Dyck, Jordans) and Polish art (Matejko, Kossak, Grottger). The graphic arts collection numbered 3000 sheets. 50,000 volumes of Dzieduszycki collection brought from the family home of Poturytsa near Sokal (old printings, works of the epistolary genre, the family archive) were stored in house No. 17 starting from 1857.


  • Venues on map

    Look on
      shown 0 comments from 0
      Your rate
    • All venues